Two storms…

HDLA's on fiberglass pole.I have been inactive the last week, and not been listening at all, due to very windy weather conditions just after the last weekend. The storm made spaghetti of my BOG’s at work and my HDLA’s at home, so I decided to usemost of my spare time last week to repair the HDLA’s and re-locate them to my listening post at work. I have winded up the BOG’s and put them in the trunk of the car, so they are now ready for some portable action. Anyway, I assembled my HDLA’s two days ago and they seem to work fine.

Unfortunately, the sun hasn’t been very coorporative this weekend. Conditions is currently useless and there is no transpolar propagation at all on the MW band. This morning proton levels went up and down, and up again. The MW-band was totally dead, except for the semi-local russian stations.

Listening post; ICF-2010, MFJ-1026, preamplifier, MP3-recorder, etc...Was listening on shortwave for a while, but there was absolutely nothing of interest. Well, maybe it was Radio Educación in Mexico playing canciones on 6184,9 KHz, but it was very weak and unstable. Besides that, nothing. And auroral flutter on almost every signal that was heard.

Bias-Tee's for HDLA's. Powering the loop amplifiers via the coax'es.So, today I will relax and do some audio file analyzes. It will take a few days for the MW-band to recover, and hopefully better conditions will be present later this week and next weekend.

NB: I have updated the antenna page on this site. There you will find a more detailed description of my HDLA-system.

73,

Hans

About Hans

Male. 45 years young. Living together with my fiancé and our two sons. DX:er since 1980. By the end of August, I'm moving up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coastal Radio station in Vardø. The rest of the family will stay in Biri, which is where we live now. I will travel home a couple of times each month. I'm very enthusiastic about my new job, which has been a dream for me for many years. I feel very lucky to get this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. Guess that the area around Vardø will offer some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 22. January 2012, in Antennas, Condx. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Kanskje du burde redusere filstørrelsen på bildene før du uploader dem, Hans. Det går tregt å få ut 7-8 MB filer selv med fiber.

  2. Point taken, Bjarne! Ordner med dette i morgen etter jobb. /H.

  3. Dirk - DK3JW

    hi Hans,

    me again Dirk from Germany where your HDLAs came from ;)
    I saw the photo here and must say normally it is not nessesary to wind the Powercable through ferrit cores! The bias tee is good enough to hold each QRM from the power supply away from the antenna. we spend a lot of time for researching the best bias tee Version.

    so hope you´ll be lucky so far.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

