Unid’s: Rowdy Radio promo on 1540 KHz

Okey. Here’s a tough one. Heard in the morning on January 15 up in Vardø. Frequency is 1540 KHz and the station is doing a promo for “Rowdy Radio”, which is a hardcore country show. No ID was heard while the station was audiable in the noise. At the same time 1570-CKMW Winkler MB was heard. The unid station on 1540 is announcing a Rowdy Radio event on 1 AM Central time. I don’t think it’s KXEL, since this seems to be way out of their format. The question is: what station, or stations, on 1540 carry the Rowdy Radio Show?

(Audio clip removed to save space on Box.net)

73,s!

Hans

Update: Ok, mystery solved. It was indeed KXEL with a promo for Red Eye Radio. Thanks to co-DXer Odd-Jørgen Sagdahl for helping me out with this one!

About Hans

Male. 45 years young. Living together with my fiancé and our two sons. DX:er since 1980. By the end of August, I'm moving up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coastal Radio station in Vardø. The rest of the family will stay in Biri, which is where we live now. I will travel home a couple of times each month. I'm very enthusiastic about my new job, which has been a dream for me for many years. I feel very lucky to get this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. Guess that the area around Vardø will offer some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 20. February 2012, in Unid's. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Hans,

    I think this is a Red Eye Radio promo – i.e. KXEL: http://www.kxel.com/page.php?jock_id=2951

    73 de OJS

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

