AFN Tokyo “Eagle 8-10″-810 kHz

Friday the 5th of october offered a pretty good opening into the Far East and Japan. One of many stations heard this afternoon was AFN Tokyo on 810 kHz, which was heard simoultaneously with a couple of chinese stations on the frequency. However, I was able to pick up, and record, an “Eagle 8-10″ ID together with a PSA from National Public Radio in the growl on the frequency and after some “detective work” with finding a useable e-mail adress to the station, I got an answer from MSgt Greg Bluethmann, the station manager at Eagle 8-10, who told me to send the report directly to him. After a few days I got the very much appreciated QSL from him:

“Hans,

           Thanks for resending that clip to my civilian e-mail address. I can confirm that’s is our radio station, “Eagle810″ on AM 810. We use a 50K watt transmitter, so I know it’s amazing how far the signal can go when the atmospheric conditions are just right. Thanks for engaging with us, and I’ll be sure to let the rest of the station personnel know how far reaching our signal is. Take care.

Blue

v/r

MSgt Greg “Blue” Bluethmann

Station Manager

American Forces Network (AFN), Tokyo”

The audio clip is found here. Yes, you need to listen carefully to hear the ID. Greg managed, and so will most of you guys.

About Hans

Male. 45 years young. Living together with my fiancé and our two sons. DX:er since 1980. By the end of August, I'm moving up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coastal Radio station in Vardø. The rest of the family will stay in Biri, which is where we live now. I will travel home a couple of times each month. I'm very enthusiastic about my new job, which has been a dream for me for many years. I feel very lucky to get this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. Guess that the area around Vardø will offer some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 24. October 2012, in DX, DX-ing in Smelror, QSL, Stations. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

