Roughly about 550 km from Asia…

Just discovered a fun fact. Vardø is roughly about 550 km from Cape Kanin Nos on the Kanin Peninsula in Russia. The Kanin Peninsula is a part of the Nenets Autonomous Okrug and belongs to Siberia. As you all know, Siberia is geographically a part of Asia…Close to Asia... From Vardø, the closest russian town is Nikel in the Pechenga region, about 2 hours drive around the Varanger Fjord.Guess that I need to get my passport “in full working condition” before I make my first attempt to try a “harry-tur” to Russia… By the way, Pechenga was actually a part of Finland (finnish name is Petsamo), which was lost to the Soviet Union during WWII. Before that, Norway didn’t have an onshore border to the Soviet Union, but Finland actually had a small coastal line to the Barents Sea. Ok, that was all the fun facts for today.

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 15. June 2011, in Fun Facts. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Jane Dahlsveen

    Det skal bli morro å følge deg gjennnom denne bloggen Hans:) Lykke til:)

    Jane

Leave a Reply

