HDLA – The antenna(s) of my choice

At first, I planned to erect two Wellbrook ALA-100 loops at my QTH, but after I got a hint in one of the later editions of Shortwave Bulletin about a german antenna that has similar specifications and is said to perform equally (or in some cases better) than the ALA-100, I immedeately got curious and decided to find out more. The antenna, or more correct; loop amplifiers (you supply your own antenna wire for the loop), is called HDLA and can be bought from Dirk Nees Elektroniek via the internet site activeloop.de. The cost for one loop amplifier and BIAS-tee for supply-voltage via the coaxial cable is very sympathic; 110.00€, if you place your order before the 1st of July (2011). After that, the price will be 135.00€ (which also is very sympathic). The price doesn’t include shipping costs. However, at this price, you almost get two HDLA’s for the same cost as one ALA-100. Definetely worth a try, right?

My idea is to arrange two HDLA’s as delta loops on one support pole. Each delta-loop with a cirkumference of about 20 meters. Guess there will be some experimentation to find the optimal loop size. The loops will be arranged “K9AY-style”, with the exception that the loops will not be terminated. Instead I will phase the two loops by means of my MFJ-1026 phaser, which also covers the MW-band after a very simple modification. Hopefully these loops will work fine, and I sure hope that my final conclusion is that the HDLA represents the “best bang for the Buck”!

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 22. June 2011, in Antennas, Pre Vardø. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

