Playing with SDR

SDR – Software Defined Radio… Well, I’ve been quite reluctant regarding “going digital” versus “staying analog”, but for a couple of days I’ve been playing with a SDR-IQ from RF-Space, and my verdict is: Yes! My other receivers, a JRC NRD-515, Palstar R30A and Sony ICF-2010 are still very good, but when it comes to the ability to dig up really weak signals from the mud the SDR-IQ stays untouched.  Besides that, the SDR-IQ receiver itself isn’t much bigger than a pocket-size digital camera and I need to take the laptop computer with me to Vardø anyway – so this will save a lot of flight-weight for me when it’s time to move up north. Image the carrying weight if I needed to send up the JRC, the R30A and the ICF-2010… Guess that SAS and Wideroe would have one or two things to say about that. Another big pro with the SDR-IQ is the ability to record a bandwith of roughly 190 KHz and everything within this bandwith. Of course, this requires quite a lot of discspace in the computer, but I have that and therefore the decision making regarding this issue is a “no brainer”. Yes, there are SDR-receivers on the market, such as the Perseus and WinRadio Excalibur, allowing recording of even bigger bandwiths – but for now the SDR-IQ is more than enough for me. If I stay nice, maybe Santa Claus will bring me a Perseus or Excalibur for Christmas, hi! By the way, the antenna I’m using here in Biri is a Wellbrook ALA330S which I’m phasing against a 15 meter wire by the means of a MFJ-1026 phasing unit, and the Palstar MW550P MW-preselector when listening on the MW band. The software I use for the SDR-IQ is SDR-Radio.com.

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 28. June 2011, in Pre Vardø, Receivers. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Regarding SAS & Widerøe and luggage … before the SDR-era I traveled with 4-5 old-style receivers to Kongsfjord for our annual KONG expeditions. On the heaviest trip I had 115 kg of luggage and got it all with me both ways without charge! But things have changed with regard of airlines and luggage as well, so you are probably right …

Leave a Reply

