Yet a new one in the log…

Despite the fact that I was affected by a new QRM which more or less spoiled reception on frequencys above 1100 KHz yesterday evening (I will try to find the source of this new QRM tonight), I managed to get a new one in the log yesterday evening as well; AIR Najibabad, Uttar Pradesh was heard with pretty good signals on 954 KHz at 1733 UTC. I will keep looking for these Indian stations on mediumwave, since most of them have left shortwave years ago.

Most part of yesterday evening, I spent a couple of hours improving the feeding system for my two phased loops, and I found out that the best results was achived with open loops. The phasing bandwith decreased, but overall this was the favourable method. I will contunue the antenna works tonight. Maybe I will be able to find a method to phase out this new, and very annoying, QRM.

However, around midnight (local time) I turned on the SDR-IQ again, and immedeately found a HUGE signal in the waterfall on 882 KHz. Before tuning it in, I assumed that it was one of these giant (signal-strength-wise) IRIB stations, but no – It was TWR Puttalam, Sri Lanka carrying the service of TWR India! Same station as I logged the day before, but now with local strength! Fun!

Well, nothing from North America, yet, but I think I will try to get up early tomorrow morning to see if any signals are coming over the pole.

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 6. September 2011, in DX. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good start! Try for the msot common AUS signals on 630, 1548 and X-band as well!

    73 de OJS

  2. Thanks, Odd-Jørgen!

    Yes, will do that! Hopefully I can manage to control the annoying QRM above 1100 KHz. Anyway, there is still a lot to listen to below 1100 as well, hi! Very interesting, indeed. The EU-stations that normally are very strong further down south, is quite weak up here, and instead the band is crowded with stations from the Middle East and especially Iran…

    Got JOLF on 1242 KHz, very pleased with that (for starters), but will certainly have a go on the Aussies. Especially the one on 630 (if frequencys above still are in QRM). Any particular time when the Aussies normaly shows up?

    Regards,

    Hans

  3. I just checked my log from last September and had a number of AUS low in the band (576, 594, 612, 630) around 18:00 UTC on 10 September. That would be right after LSS and while AUS is still in the dark. I am traveling to Kongsfjord Thursday morning so we can compare Thursday night.

    73 de OJS

  4. Hehe, well that we be no contest for you, Odd-Jørgen! I’m currently listening with two missmatched delta loops (while waiting for the HDLA loop-amps) and you will be using the famous beverages in Kongsfjord. Anyhow, it seems that frequencys below 1000 KHz is far better for me, at least right now. Still terrible QRM on frequencys above 1100 KHz here from time to time, and I guess that the loop missmatching is doing things even worse as it affects the MFJ-1026 ability to phase the loops between 1,1-3,5 MHz. Will have a go on the low band Aussies anyway!

    73!

Leave a Reply

