Radio Afghanistan – 1107,007 KHz

This evenings “asian-session” resulted in a new one for me; Radio Afghanistan, Pol-e-Charkhi on the new split 1107,007 KHz. The station played non-stop Pashtoon music, mixed with “Afghan-spiced” oriental pop for more than one hour before they ended their transmission with an evening prayer and the National Anthem. I had to check the anthem on Youtube, because I never heard any ID of the station, but it’s no doubt – the Youtube-check confirms that it’s the National Anthem of Afghanistan and nothing else. I have uploaded an audio file with the evening’s prayer, anthem and sign off.

According to WRTH, Radio Afghanistan signs off at 1830 UTC, but it seems that they now have a new s/off time at 1930 UTC, or one or two minutes past the half hour. Also many thanks to Mauno Ritola, for the “heads up” regarding the stations new frequency offset.

So, what’s else? Well, A-index is on a sympathic 7, and the K-index on a quite OK 2. I’m still worried about the solar-flux index, but I think I will have a “nocturnal session” tonight, followed by a couple of hours of sleep – and then an early morning, checking the band for any possible North American stations. This morning I overslept… Silly me…

73!

Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 15. September 2011, in Condx, DX, Stations. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

