Help – I can’t decide…

I’ve decided to “step up” a little bit SDR-wise, and thinking of buying a new SDR-receiver. The problem is, I can’t decide which one to choose. Sofar, I’ve been lokking at the QS1R/SDRMAXIV, the Perseus and the G31DDC Excalibur. All three receivers seems to be excellent, and all three has of course their “pros” and “cons”. At first, the QS1R with the SDRMAXIV software appeared to be a great choise, considering that the radio doesn’t need to use the PC’s soundcard, and that the SDRMAX-software now is capable of recording larger chunks (up to 2 MHZ?) of IF-bandwith.  I’m using my Lenovo T410s notebook (with the intel i5 dual core processor) – but doesn’t really know much about the built in soundcard (which most likely is a low-performance one). Still, the Excalibur and Perseus are very tempting, and it is of course possible to buy an high-end external soundcard, if necessary…

Any recommendations and/or comments from you is very mych appreciated! 

73’s from Stavanger!

Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 2. October 2011, in Receivers. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hei Hans,
    None of the SDRs you mention *need* the computer’s sound card. But for all of them a good sound card will be very useful when playing back the recordings. This is the same for all, and an external USB audio card will be working very well for that purpose.
    For options you should also consider the netSDR from RFSpace.
    But for my type of DX-ing the Perseus come out on top, both because of its own qualities but also because of the good (and growing) selection of 3rd party utilities.
    Good luck with your pick. I am sure any of them will serve you well.
    73 de OJS

  2. Vet da søren. Har ikke peiling på slikt🙂 Men antar du fant ut av det🙂

Leave a Reply

