Some Asia and Far East…

Yesterday afternoon and evening did show some pretty decent conditions into Asia and Far East. Nothing spectacular in the log (I haven’t yet received my HDLA-amplifiers, but they’re released from customs so I expect them to arrive pretty soon), but a few of the more potent Japanese stations was present, together with the usual bunch of Chinese stations all over the band. I must admit, that I spent most of the time hunting on frequencies housing Japanese stations, so I may have missed some other interesting stations on other frequencies while doing so. I haven’t yet get used to the idea of recording 192 KHz of raw bandwith for later analyze, but I guess I will start doing that quite soon – when I find some time to do the actual file analyzes… Anyhow, local sunset is now around 14:00 UTC, and already at 13:45 UTC JOLF Tokyo was present with a decent signal on 1242 KHz. Other Japanese stations logged was JOFR Fukuoka-1278, JOER Hiroshima-1350, JOHR Sapporo-1287 and JOIF Fukuoka-1413. All the Japanese stations was logged between 13:45 and 16:55 UTC. No Japanese stations was heard below 1242 KHz.

Another interesting station was heard on 1350 KHz KHz as well. I’m not sure, but I beleive that it may be Choibalsan, Mongolia. Asiawaves is currently listing the station as inactive, but it may be reactivated. I will examine the recording from 1350 KHz carefully, and get back with info as soon as I know more.

I went to bed quite early yesterday, as I was pretty tired due to the trip and last weeks “hospitalization”. Got up around 04:30 UTC, only to find the MW-band very quiet. Big disappointment! Hope the coming night/morning will offer some more. A-index is on a steady 3, and K-index on a likewise steady 2, the band is currently quiet so there should be opportunities to snag one or two North Americans later on.

73,

Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 18. October 2011, in DX. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

