North America silent…

Was checking the MW-band this morning at 02:30 and 04:30 UTC before going to work. The band was surprisingly silent, and I didn’t detect anything interesting at all. Bjarne Mjelde and the Kongsfjord gang is reporting just about the same – only the most common NA’s heard the last morning, and they have a way better location and much bigger and better antennas than I have. Conditions seems to be very strange indeed. However, the band has been quiet for a couple of days now (current A-index is 4 and K-index is 0) and there must come an opening soon – if the condx doesn’t suddenly change into active/disturbed, that is.

We’ll see what happens this afternoon, evening and night. Yesterday afternoon only offered the usual bunch of asian stations and strong european signals later in the evening.

By the way, I’m planning to do a little “car-expedition” out to the Skagen peninsula, which is the northern part of Vardøya Island. This seems to be a pretty nice, and QRM-free location which is easily accessed by car. So, if the weather permits, I will bring my trusty ICF-2010 and two BOG’s (200 meters each and strunged in 310 and 50 degrees) for some listening from saturday noon until sunday morning/noon. More info later on.

73!

Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 19. October 2011, in Condx, DX. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Hans

    Conditions pretty flat here on Anglesey also to NA. Have not checked my recording of 1470 yet though. I have never managed any MW Dx from the East (yet) but have hopes for some Africans

    Good DX

    Mark
    Anglesey

Leave a Reply

