KJNP North Pole, AK-1170

When I beginned with DX:ing in 1980, I almost immedeately took interest in the mediumwave band, and I quite soon learned about DX:ing North America and I heard about KJNP North Pole, Alaska, a station which seems to have been on 1170 KHz forever. Unfortunately, from a NA-DX:ing point of wiev, while I was living in southern Sweden, DX:ing North America was something that people in the northern parts of Scandinavia was doing during winter time. Oh well, I logged about 50 of the most common east coast stations from my location in Skåne (Scania), the southernmost county in Sweden, but that was about it. I could, however, never get KJNP out of my mind (or in the log). I wanted that station, which almost had gained a legendary status with me – and other Scandinavian DX:ers too, but it was just impossible to hear King Jesus North Pole from southern Sweden where 1170 KHz was dominated by Radio Koper Capodistria in Trieste and from time to time one or two local independent stations in the UK. I think Swansea Sound was one of them and there was no way that I could afford going on a DXpedition to Lapland to get a fair chanse to log stations in AK. A couple of years later it was time to start a proffessional career, getting an education and start building a family. There was less time for DX:ing, due to studies, family making (hrrm) and work. I almost forgot about DX:ing. Well, almost… Periodically I did forgot about it, but I never forgot KJNP…

Today, almost 30 years later, I heard KJNP North Pole AK-1170 for the first time in my life. The signal was very faint, but it was there! With light music, a few short announcements and then, at 0900 UTC: the ID that I’ve been waiting for since I was a teenager: “KJNP North Pole”… I was stunned. Was this the end of my DX:ing “career”? Was this it? What now?

Well, when I came home from work today, I immedeately sent a reception report with a short audio clip via e-mail to the station. Less than one hour later I got the answer with the nice .pdf-QSL showed above, signed Julie K. Beaver. Julie writes:

“Dear Hans,

Greetings in the name of the Lord!

Thank you for your recent reception report and recording.  We have read and listened to your report.  Although it was faint, we could still understand it and you did indeed, heard KJNP.  We are enclosing our QSL card as well as some information about our station.

KJNP is a 50,000 watt AM station with a country/gospel format and our reason for being on the air is to let the top of the world know that there is a Lord in Heaven that loves each one of us.  All we need to do to have Jesus as our personal friend and Savior is to repent from our sins and ask Him into our hearts.  We do that, we establish our communication line with our Heavenly Father.  With the communication line established, we can receive His signal loud and clear.

We also have a 25,000 watt FM station with a classical/sacred format and Channel 4 TV station with a religious/family format.  The AM station went on the air October 11, 1967 at 10,000 watts and was increased to 50,000 watts in 1970.  The FM station went on the air October 11, 1977 and the TV station went on the air December 7, 1981.  Our AM station literally reaches across the “Top of the Globe” reaching many listeners with the Good News of salvation.  During the winter months from November to March we broadcast religious programming in the Russian language into the former Soviet Union.  KJHA went on the air in Houston, Alaska on July 8, 1998 broadcasting by satellite from North Pole, Alaska reaching the Matsu Valley in South Central Alaska.

In addition to broadcasting, we also have a Bible distribution ministry called Bibles For Others which operates out of Grand Rapids, Minnesota.  Through that ministry we mail Bibles to individuals in third-world countries free of charge upon request. 

We also collect toys and clothing through the year for distribution at Christmas to children in the villages of Alaska. 

All the staff at KJNP are here on a voluntary basis and do not receive any pay for their services.  Each person raises their own support before they arrive and are usually sponsored by a church organization, friends, or relatives.  We furnish room and board for singles and cabins for those who are married to live in.  We also have some volunteers from the surrounding community who come in and help as they can. 

Again, thank you for your reception report.  We enjoyed hearing from you.

Julie K Beaver

KJNP”

  • You can listen to an audio clip of KJNP here. The original clip has been replaced by a better clip, from a reception of KJNP in January 2012.

What else then? Well, I’m listening from my work these days. Going to Cape Skagen has been impossible for a while, due to weather conditions and lack of daylight. My BOG:s are stretched on the lawn outside our station building. 200 meters in 335 degrees and 200 meters in 315 degrees. Noise level is of course higher than it is out on Cape Skagen, but things are really working. And it’s way better to listen at work than it is not listening at all! KBRW Barrow, AK-680 was booming today around 1500-1530 this afternoon! So, when there is propagation, I’m hearing good things – even if the noise level is a bit too high.

73!

Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 16. November 2011, in DX, QSL, Stations. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on the great catch Hans- and after so many years of waiting. It gladdens the heart! I plan to feature your excellent blog in the January issue of UK magazine “RadioUser2, if that is ok?

    Chrissy

    • Hi Chrissy!

      Thanks! Well, since I heard KJNP for the first time, it has been present with booming signal both yesterday and today! It’s of course OK to feature my blog in “RadioUser”. I will, however, be away from Vardø in December and will be back here again right after New Year. The blog will of course be updated also during my absence from this lovely location! Hans

Leave a Reply

