Elecraft KX3 ordered!!

Since 2004, I have been an avid builder of the excellent transceiver kits from Elecraft. Sofar, I have built one KX1, two K1 and two K2 transceivers – all of them showing stunning performance on the HF amateur bands. Therefore, I couldn’t resist ordering the newest radio in the Elecraft range of HF-transceivers: The KX3, which is an ultra portable QRP-transceiver (weight is only 1.5 pounds/0.7 kg) with advanced DSP-technology and SDR-architecture. The transceiver is featuring a general coverage receiver; 0,5-32 MHz + the 6 meter amateur band. I decided to opt for the modular kit version (all cirkuit boards are factory made, the builder assembles the kit and does the final adjustments), together with the KXAT3 automatic antenna tuner which provides preselection also in receive-only mode (and also in the MW-band!), and since I’m a true “CW-nerd” I also ordered the IAMBIC paddles.

The primary use for this little gem will of course be portable ham-radio operation, but I’m also very curious about how this radio performs as a MW-receiver. I have very good experience with the receiver sections of the earlier Elecraft radios on HF, and being the “little brother” of Elecraft’s flagship K3, I’m convinced that the KX3 is no exception! No, it doesn’t feature Syncronous AM, but good SSB-filtering with good slopes works just as good. The KX3 may be the ultimate MW/SW portable for serious DX:ing. Time will show! Elecraft is planning to start shipping the KX3 in late February, so I guess that I will have a few weeks left of the MW-season when it’s delivered.

More information about the KX3 and other products from Elecraft is found here.

73!

Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 3. January 2012, in Receivers. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hello Hans,

    I was wondering if you have posted your impressions or comments about the KX3 for medium wave use on your blog. I am considering the KX3 as an alternative, very portable radio for TP MW DXing, and was wondering your thoughts about it. How does it compare to your Afedri and Perseus SDRs, for instance. I have a Perseus but it would be nice to have the SDR-based KX3 for those times I don’t want to bring the laptop along on DXpeditions.

    73,

    Guy KE7MAV
    Puyallup, WA USA

    • Hi Guy!

      As things developed, I haven’t yet ordered the KX3. The “queue” was too long thi spring and I decided to opt for a Excalibur G31DDC as a “priority-1” radio. However, I will order a KX3 later this fall or in the early winter, and my impressions will be posted here.

      73,

      Hans

Leave a Reply

