It’s getting better… slowly…

Well, after the last two weeks of extreme solar activity and space weather, conditions on mediumwave and the lower shortwave bands is slowly getting better. Still nothing from North America on MW yet, but it takes time for the band to recover. Tropical bands and lower shortwave is also improving. I’ve been listening for some periods since last friday, and I will get back to you when I got the logs sorted out be the end of the week. I’m currently quite busy at work and I’m leaving Vardø for about a month on thursday.

73,

Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 6. February 2012, in Condx. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

