New toy ordered: The Afedri SDR-Net

Well, I guess that most of you people in the DX community has heard about this new SDR-receiver already. After reading about the Afedri on Arctic DX, I got inspired and decided to order one myself. The Afedri SDR-Net is offered by Alex /4Z5LV via his website, and sports a 80MHz 12 bit ADC, which in comparison with other (and much more expensive) SDR:s is representing a compromise. The Afedri doesn’t have any band pass filtering, so if you – like me – are interested in mediumwave DXing, it’s recommended that a low pass filter is added before the antenna input on the receiver. More about that further down. Anyhow, what’s making the Afedri so interesting for the MW-DXing community is the receiver’s ability to record up to 1250 KHz of IF bandwith – and this for such a low cost as US$ 249 + shipping! I paid a grand total of US$ 277 including shipping to Norway from Israel. In fact, you can afford to buy at least THREE Afedri’s for the same cost as for one high-end SDR. No wonder I’m curious about this little baby, and the upcoming MW-season will show if the Afedri SDR-Net represents the Best Bang for The Buck! I’m not going to get into any technical discussion here, instead I recommend you all to read Bjarne Mjelse’s thoughts about the radio, which is found here.

However, since the Afedri’s front/end is “wide as a barn door”, it’s recommended that the serious MW-DXer adds some kind of low pass
filtering at the antenna input, to avoid overload on the MW band from strong shortwave stations. I decided to opt for a custom made low pass filter with a cutoff frequency of 1800 KHz from Clifton Laboratories. I guess that this setup will work just fine!

In any case, the Afedri story will be continued this upcoming MW-season!

73!

Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 19. July 2012, in Receivers. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

