KTWG Hagåtña, Guam-801 KHz

When examining the Afedri recordings from the Smelror DX-session last weekend (and beleive me, I’ve got plenty of them), I found a strong station on 801 KHz, playing non-stop religious contemporary music at around 14:50 UTC, October 5. At the full hour I got the ID “You’re listening to […] KTWG, Hagåtña, Guam”, followed by some information about the upcoming programmes that day.

I immedeately prepared an audio clip of the ID and e-mailed it to the station, and after just 3,5 hours I got answer from miss Leilani Dahilig, who writes:

Hello, Hans!

Or perhaps I should say “Hafa Adai!”, which is our local greeting. I am very pleased to be able to confirm your recption of our signal at KTWG – AM800. I enjoyed listening to the recording you sent with your email and once again as in other reported recptions of us, I am surprised to hear how well the signal sounds, especially considering the distance and ‘urban noise’ as you put it!

Thanks for reporting your reception of KTWG and perhaps you’ll catch us again sometime! Blessings to you, sir!

Leilani Dahilig – KTWG-Guam/Pacific

The audio clip of KTWG is found here.

Now, continuing with examining the Afedri recordings. I’m finished in a day or two, and will get back to you soon.

73’s! Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 9. October 2012, in DX, DX-ing in Smelror, QSL, Stations. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Pray for RBK, looks very darks for the game tomorrow.
    On the other hand, vi ger oss aaaldrig!
    Perhaps some green painting, just a few stripes, would be a kind of support, you have them close anyway…
    /mnä

Leave a Reply

