AIH22 Day #4, November 27

KWIPLoads of brazilian stations was noticed on the band after midnight. There were brazilians, and later a mix of Brazil and La Plata, which made me doing the (to be me) unusual thing to stay up listening, instead of going to bed. I also made a big IQ-recording with the Excalibur, and I guess it will take a week to examine that one… For a long time I enjoyed Radio Clube B2 in Curitiba on 1430 kHz, which came in with a huge signal almost all the night, and transmitted a musical show that fell into my taste. Guess that I will find quite a number of “good ones” in the IQ-file later on.

After a few hours of sleep, I got my feets on the floor and found the MW-band in good shape. At first the conditions drove the propagation to the Gulf area, as WOAI San Antonio TX-1200 and XEG La Ranchera, Monterrey-1050 was dominating their frequencies and was logged rapidly. I’m really curious about what I may find in the IQ-file from this morning, when I’m examining it. An hour or two later, conditions had driven propagation to the northwestern corner of the U.S., as KWIP Dallas OR-880 was logged with their Mex-format and several “La Campiona” ID:s. On 750 kHz, KXTG Portland OR was dominating over CKMX.

Around 09:30 I had to go outside to “take a leak”, and when I opened the cabin door, I found myself standing eye-to-eye with two reindeers, who obviously had decided that the small parking lot outside the cabin was an excellent “reindeer toilet”. At least, the droppings that they left after their rendevouz with me told me that this may have been the situation. Unfortunately, the reindeers was gone when I came back with the camera. Sic!

KCAM

About “ten-isch” UTC, quite a number of Alaska stations was present on the band, and in addition to the most common ones, I noticed KTZN Anchorage-550, KZPA Ft. Yukon-900 and KCAM Glenallen-790 which totally wiped out CFCW for a long time. After a few hours with “Alaska-hunting”, I went out to shuffle away all the snow on the parking lot, together with the reindeer droppings. Oh well, when I had got started – I continued to shuffle all the way up to the main road. Let’s hope we got enough snow for this expedition, hi!

Propagation into Japan was pretty good during the afternoon. I got local ID:s from quite a number of NHK2 stations right before their s/off; JOAB-693, JOUB-774, JOBB-828, JOQC-1386, JOZB-1512 and JOTB-1593 to mention some of them. I also had NHK2 on 747 and 1152 kHz, but none of them ID:d local at s/off, just a plain “NHK Hoso Desi” followed by the National Anthem. Around 17:00 UTC, I noticed two new commercial stations for me as well; JONR ABC Asaki Hoso, Osaka-1008 and JOAR CBC Chibu Nippon Hoso, Nagoya-1053.

@00:05 UTC: SFI=122, A=5, K=1, Velocity=471.2, Density=4.4

@06:10 UTC: SFI=122, A=5, K=1, Velocity=432.8, Density=2.8

@12:10 UTC: SFI=122, A=5, K=1, Velocity=443.7, Density=0.8

@18:05 UTC: SFI=122, A=5, K=1, Velocity=432.1, Density=0.5

73 de Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 28. November 2012, in DXpeditions. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

