AIH22 Day #5, November 28

kofiA very eventful day, and the best morning so far! Stations from North America begun to become audiable with useful strength’s around 21:00 UTC the evening of the 26th. Around midnight, WMBD Peoria IL was logged on 1470 kHz. Not so fancy, maybe, but it was a new one for me. During the early night, i.e. around 00:00-01:00, the conditions was pretty much varying, and stations from the east coast of North America was heard simoultaneously with stations from Venezuela. As my main area of interest is North America, I didn’t pay much attention to the YV’s, but I’m sure that a number of those are available in my recordings. I made a one hour IQ-recording before I went to bed at 02:00 UTC. While recording, I listened to CFFB Iqaluit NU on 1230 kHz with CBC-programming, and while monitoring 1310 kHz an half hour later, I’m quite sure that I heard a “…coming up on 13-10 KYUL…”, when CIWW was silent for a short moment. Will check the IQ-recording very carefully before I say anything more about this one. In any case, I’m sure that I will find other goodies.

After a few hours of sleep, I stood up at 04:30 to find the MW-band in excellent shape! This was to become the best morning so far and I was recording continously from 04:40 to 12:30 UTC! It will be a tremendous job to examine that IQ-file, but I already know that it will be hilariously fun! Anyway, stations received in real time, worth noting, is KNOX Grand Forks ND-1310, WOOD Grand Rapids MI-1300, KXNO Des Moines IA-1460, KMNQ Brooklyn Park MN-1470, KWSL Sioux City IA-1470, WHK Cleveland OH-1420, KUAZ Tucson AZ-1550, KOFI Kalispell MT-1180 and CFYK Yellowknife NT-1340. It was extra good to notice that there was plenty of activity on the graveyard frequencies, and I think the examination of the IQ-files will be like X-mas eve!

20121128_222949While recording in the morning, I went out to inspect the four antennas on the east side of the main road. Got to take good use of the very few hours of “daylight” this time of the year. All the antennas were where they should be, and it was a good exercise to access them in 35-40 cm of snow, hi! I also tried to find out what had gone wrong with the 160-degree antenna during the previous expedition. I’m not sure if I had any success. Will check it again tomorrow, and maybe replace the balun box. After the “workout” with the antennas, I drove to Inari and the Kuukkeli grocery store to buy some more bread, butter, milk, coffee and beer. I opted for Foster’s and maybe that was a good omen, because I logged 4QD ABC Emerald on 1548 kHz when I got back to the cabin again.

I went to bed again around 16:00 UTC and got a few hours of good sleep. If the upcoming night and morning turns out to be at least half as good and productive as the last one, I’m one happy DX:er!

@00:15 UTC: SFI=117, A=4, K=1, Velocity=411.3, Density=1.5

@06:10 UTC: SFI=117, A=4, K=1, Velocity=390.8, Density=1.0

@12:10 UTC: SFI=117, A=4, K=0, Velocity=375.3, Density=2.3

@18:10 UTC: SFI=117, A=4, K=0, Velocity=372.4, Density=1.8

73 de Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 29. November 2012, in DXpeditions. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

