AIH22 log update, December 26

Examining a file from the late morning of the 30th of November was quite interesting. I’m not finished with the file yet, only been doing 1300-1700 kHz, but still found a couple of new ones, such as: XEPE ESPN Radio, Tecte-1700, KDDZ Arvada CO-1690, KTIQ Merced CA-1660, KFOX Torrance CA-1650, KGAL Lebanon OR-1580, KBLA Santa Monica CA-1580, KVAN Burbank WA-1560, KKOV Vancouver WA-1550, KRPI Ferndale WA-1550, KEYG Grand Coulee WA-1490, KDBM Dillon MT-1490, KYKN Keizer OR-1430, XECF La Mexicana, Los Mochis-1410, WLCM Holt MI-1390, KKMO Tacoma WA-1360, KSCJ Sioux City IA-1360 and KWKW Los Angeles CA-1330.

Quite a productive morning, I have to say. I’m curious about whats hidden in the rest of the file, and even more about what’s in the one that I recorded one hour before.

As usual, you find the last updated version of the AIH22 log here.

73’s de Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 26. December 2012, in DX, DXpeditions. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Karel Honzik, CZE

    Hi Hans, I follow your reports with great curiosity to see how large your list is going to be at the end! I have all your reports from AIH22 saved (maybe more pictures would be fine). At the beginning I was not sure if you were there really alone, it seems so. Is not it dangerous? Are here any neighbours to contact when something happens what you cannot solve by yourself? I am a big fan of these polar areas in connection with DXing, although I have never visited this part of the world and I doubt that I will ever get there…
    One week is perhaps enough or is it too little? It is nice to hear that you need ony 4 hours to get there. Of course you need free time and a free cottage but anyway… It is a very nice hobby 🙂

    • Hello Karel, and thank you for your interest in my AIH22 DXpedition. Yes, you are completely right, I was i Aihkiniemi alone. It’s not dangerous at all, all the bears are sleeping at this time of the year, and there are almost no wolves present 😉 But, there are just about one million of reindeer… Well, in case of emergency, the latitude and longitude of the cabin is found on the cabin noteboard, and this geographic information is good to have in case one need to call 112. On the other hand, we Nordic people are used to be out in the wilderness. What you need is good clothing and especially good footwear, underwear made of wool (everything else is useless). The cabin itself is very well equipped, so the “standard” of living out there is superb.

      Well, I have plenty of recordings yet to examine. I stayed in AIH for a week and I have Exclibur recordings which will keep me busy for several months. If you get the opportunity to do a DXpedition in Aihkiniemi, you should try it! But, if your not used to the arctic clima, perhaps you should do the expedition together with an experienced Finn, Swede or Norwegian. In any case, Aihkiniemi is awsome – it’s a location so silent that you can hear grass grow!

      73’s de Hans

Leave a Reply

