“I demmand you confirme reception report!”

screamAs manager for coast radio station Vardø Radio (LGV), I receive reception reports from DXers every now and then, mostly from Europe, but I have actually also received a report from New Zealand on one of our SITOR-B transmissions on 8 MHz. However, most of the reports are from reception of our NAVTEX or DSC transmissions in the MF-spectra, and most of them are correct. These reports are of course confirmed by letter and some information material. It’s not very often that I receive a fake reception report, until last December…

I mid-December I received a reception report from a “DXer” in Italy, whom I will have the courtesy to remain anonymous. The “DXer” had “heard” a NAVTEX transmission from Berlevaag Radio(!!) on 518 kHz. Well, first of all: There hasn’t been a “Berlevaag radio” for many decades. Yes, the transmitter facility and antennas are still there, remotely controlled from Vardø. But, there has never been transmitted as much as a “milli-bit” NAVTEX from that site, and it’s not likely to happen in the future. Second: the time of reception and so called “proof” of reception all made it so totally obvious that it was a fake report.

Well, I wrote a kind answer by e-mail to the guy, telling him that it was impossible for me to confirm a transmission that never had happened, and I included the schedule for our transmissions in all modes in the MF-spectra. Didn’t hear anything from him again, until today…

“I demmand you confirme reception report” was his answer, in an e-mail that I received when I was about to go home for the day. That made me decide to stay at work for yet another five minutes – writing an answer to this “DXer”. I told him that it was not likely that he would receive many QSL’s writing fake reception reports, and his generally rude attitude. I also told him that a real DXer never demands a station to confirm a reception report, a real DXer asks kindly to have a reply. A QSL is a courtesy, and the station’s staff answers reports and verifies reception if, and only if, they have time to do so – if the report is correct, that is. I sent him the e-mail, hoping that he finally had understood and went home…

Obviously, he hadn’t understood a thing. After writing and sending a few reports myself, I decided to check my work e-mail, to see if there was any late incomings of importance. Well, there wasn’t. But there was a reply from the “DXer”:

“Fuck you you stupido stupido man!”.

Thanks and goodnight, everyone 🙂

Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 5. January 2015, in Just stuff.... Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Congrats for this excellent article, Hans. And thanks that you use your time for answer such reports to support our hobby. I suspect the same DXer is the reason why I upload now only very few recordings to my RemoteDX Blog. 73 from Salzburg

    • Hello Christoph!
      Yes, It may be the same guy. Really sad that people like this are destroying our hobby. I myself is very reluctant regarding uploading audio files these day’s. At least I should have received a confirmation of my own reception before upload. 73 es good DX!

  2. Here another older, but very interesting page: http://www.schoechi.de/bellabar.html
    And yes, first a reply and than possible an audiofile for the Blog is also my way. Than the station knows the correct source of the recording… 73!

    • Yup! Heard about signore Bellabarba. A real clown! Still, this is not the guy. By the way, “our guy” has been in here and posted a very rude comment. I e-mailed him and asked if he wanted me to publish it, which means that I also should expose his identity. Haven’t got any reply on that one yet…

  3. Hans,

    Are sure the “DXer” is not brazilian? One of them sent a log related to a LORAN-C station from China and when I told him that it would not be possible at the time/setup and that his You Tube video was fake, he did almost the same.

    • Hello Ivan!

      And thanks for your comment. Well, I actually don’t know. His first “reception report” looks very serious, except that the data is just bogus. He states an postal address in Italy (not Bologna, though). It may just as well be a simple joker, who wants to cause problems and then put the blame on the Italians. I’m sure there’s a number of this kind of “DXers” out there, and it’s important to state that not all of them are from Italy.

  4. Hi Hans, I am QSL manager from two colombian stations in SW; and every so often I receive false reports; and not only from Europe, from Latin America too

  5. I remember Bellabarba well as I was on the receiving end of one of his bogus reports when I worked at a UK radio station. That sort of behaviour is unacceptable, and does no favours for other people in the hobby, and you can understand why some stations will no longer bother to verify (unsolicited) reports if that is what they have to put up with. I just can’t understand what they hope to achieve by doing that. You just have to wonder what goes on inside their tiny little minds, but I guess there will always be a few of these in every hobby. The guy involved should be well and truly ashamed of himself, and you and I wouldn’t blame you at all if you ‘outed’ him. The word ‘demand’ has no place in a reception report, and I’m sure that the vast majority of us greatly appreciate the service that you provide, and are as disgusted by this jackass as you are. To use a good old British saying “What a pillock!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

