AIH22 Day #8, December 1

20121128_121033First of all, sorry for not writing any update yesterday. I was pretty tired when I came home, after a whole night listening and recording seanse, cabin cleaning and then driving home. Stations from the east coast of North America begun to appear rather early on the evening the 30th of November, together with stations in the Caribbean area and Venezuela, depending on which antenna I was using. Throughout the night, conditions was pretty good and I choosed to focus on the X-band and the graveyard frequencies. There was plenty of signals in the X-band, and a constant growl also on the GY-frequencies, where stations were fading in and out all the time – almost like DX:ing the UK frequencies in the 80’s and 90’s!

I’m at work right now (yup, 12 hour watch on Vardø radio immedealy after an intense DXpedition) and has no access to my log. I spent a few hours yesterday evening listening through the last one of my Excalibur IQ-files. Quite a number of interesting stations was received in the morning hours, for instance WTAW Brazos Valley TX-1620 and CHHA “Radio Voces Latinas” Toronto ON-1610. French speaking CJWI Montreal QC was also heard on 1610 kHz. More to come, as I have listened through the files.

Even if it’s nice to come home again, I could easily have spent one more week in Aihkiniemi. This is an amazing QTH! Extremely quiet, which allows reception of signals that would be impossible to even detect in a populated area. For those of you, who never have experienced a “real” DXpedition, I can recommend a trip to Aihkiniemi without any hesitation. The location is easy to access from just about any direction, acommodation is excellent and the prize tag is very sympathic. All in all, I would say that one week in Aihkiniemi represents the “Best Bang for The Buck”! Visit www.dxing.info for more information about how to get there.

Now the real fun starts, i.e. examining the 75+ hours of Excalibur IQ-files that I have recorded. It will take a lifetime, I guess, but it also means that the Aihkiniemi experience will last forever, or at least until I’ll get there again. Right now it’s very easy to quote Arnold Schwarzenegger in “Terminator”, saying “I will be back…”.

My AIH22 post’s will be updated with a few pictures the coming week, and logs will be uploaded frequently as I have examined my files. Watch out for the new category “AIH22 logs”.

73’s de Hans

About Hans

Male. 50 years young. DX:er since 1980. In September 2011 I moved up to Vardø on Vardøya Island (EU-141) to start working as manager for the Coast Radio station in Vardø. I feel very lucky to have this opportunity to work with the thing that I think is the most interesting in the whole world - Radio! My main interest is, yeah - you guessed right: Radio. I'm a ham radio operator, holding the callsign LA2MOA. My main radio interests is low power operation and low band DXing on the amateur bands, but also mediumwave and tropical band DX-listening. I'm also interested in angling, fly-fishing and fly-tying. The area around Vardø offers some great opportunities to do all of this. And, since I'm of swedish origin, I'm also madly interested in ice-hockey and since 35 years I'm a hardcore supporter of Rögle BK in Ängelholm - one of the few really true hockey clubs left in Sweden.

Posted on 2. December 2012, in DXpeditions. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment